Home > Design, UX > My Web Super Heros

My Web Super Heros

I sit in front of my TweetDeck all day and receive tweets from awesome web people. Awesome people who have tons of experience and knowledge in web design, UI design, development and programming.

These people are the ones who get me excited to come to work and expand my knowledge, they have more influence on me and my career than any college professor I had or any other web professional out there in the web quagmire (that’s the word of the day, everybody scream!) I’m gonna share these people with you. If you are someone who follows the interwebs regularly, you have probably heard of most of these people, if not, here you go. They are listed in no particular order..

Jeffrey Zeldman

Every time my Growl alert pops up and I see that blue beanie in the corner of my display I pause whatever I am doing to read Zeldman’s latest tweet. Some times the tweets are funny, some times they share good articles, but most of the time they are just way over my head. The problem with reading Zeldman’s tweets is that most of the time I have to do some research to figure out what he is referencing or talking about. This is awesome though. Zeldman’s tweets force me to learn and expand my web knowledge is ways that I never have. He’s like own Yoda of sorts. ‘Better web design you must.’

I first saw and heard Zeldman on 5by5’s The Big Web Show, episode number two, when he was interviewing Jeremy Keith the author of HMTL5 for designers (which I still don’t own and haven’t read yet). I was hooked on who and what Zeldman represented for web design. During the show I added him to my twitters and the rest is history.

Zeldmman manages zeldman.com where he shares his brilliant web ideas with the world through blog posts and conversation. He is the founder of Happy Cog and is most famos for his book on web standards called Designing with Web Standards. Zeldman is also the co-founder of An Event Apart, the best multi-city web design convention ever, and A Book Apart with Eric Meyer (he’s further down on the list.)

Jason Santa Maria

My freaking favorite web designer ever. If only I could just copy his style and get away with it. Jason Santa Maria is great on so many levels. He is great at bringing typography to the web in beautiful form. He designs information that is pure and readable. He lays out content in brilliant, simple and elegant ways so that it is usable and easy to navigate.

The average web surfer has used his designs on many occasions. I used dictionary.com (and its family of products) for years, and up until a few months ago I never knew that Jason Santa Maria was designer. He also has a really great portfolio that I have used in the past to inspire me as I go through the design process if I get stuck or if I am just bored with design.

Jason is the founder of a the design studio Mighty and is the creative director for A List Apart and Typekit and the co-founder of A Book Apart. Some of is design include; Happy Cog, A List Apart, Objectified, The Chicago Tribune, Dictionary.com, They Might Be Giants and much, much more.

Luke W

Luke W is a little green man that spreads the word of web design and usability across the world. Okay, he’s not really a little green man even though that’s his avatar, but he does spread the word of better web design and usability across the world. I was introduced to Luke W on somebodies design blog where I heard his presentation on Web Form Design in Action. I had a class on interaction design in college, but that class lacked any real education on the subject. After hearing Luke W present on designing web forms, I started to understand what interaction design really was. From there I started learning more about usability, a lot from other Luke W presentations. He was the first web ‘dude’ who really struck a cord with me on the importance of user centered design.

Luke W is an entrepreneur and the co-founder of Stealth Start-up. He was the Chief Design Architect at Yahoo! and was the Lead User Interface Designer at Ebay. Luke also does amazing presentations on web design, user interaction and usability at a variety of web conferences all over the world.

Elliot Jay Stocks

Surfing the design magazines one day I came across a site called neutroncreations and I was blown away by the design. I was like, “man, who designed this freaking site?” For some reason this site jumped out at me, maybe its because up to that point I had never seen anybody use typography and background images real well. Plus I had never seen anybody use content blocks and offset grid patterns in that fashion before. The layout was cool and it’s unique in that the layout changes ever so slightly between pages. Not enough to freak your senses out and make it unusable, but just enough to make you interested. After perusing this site I found out that Elliot Jay Stocks and Tim Van Damme were the masterminds behind the design.

Seeing more of Elliot’s work I really started to see a real original style developed in his work. It seems that most designer and developers love to recycle and not take the necessary risks to break the mold and create original designs. His use of background images blew me away, nobody uses background images, that’s so crazy! Plus, my professors had drilled it into my head that you NEVER use background images because it destroys load times. Well, now I know that they had no idea what they were talking about. Its not the image that destroys load times… its the method. I appreciate Elliot’s designs because he likes to push the boundaries and conventions of web design, which is just awesome. He’s not your father’s web designer, if that makes any sense.

Elliot currently tweets from London. He is the author of the popular SitePoint book Sexy Web Design, an extremely good illustrator, and the slayer of the “Web 2.0” look (thank goodness.) Elliot is also a musician known as Sourhaze, which makes me like and appreciate him even more.

Janko Jovanovic

Jankoatwarpspeed is pretty freaking sweet. It’s like a free college course on web design and usability, except you actually learn valuable stuff. Janko writes on everything UI from the ideological theories behind the human mind and how people react psychologically to the web, to the the practical side of just making things work better for users. If you want references for UI Design Patterns or know why you users aren’t sticking around, Janko will have the answer for you, not just the answer though, the reason why and the solution. In the world of web design and development there are a lot of ideas, some proven and most unproven. Jankoatwarpspeed is a practical blog that will not only show you if something works or doesn’t work, but he will tell you why. Janko is huge into Javascript and the Jquery library, I didn’t know that you could do so much with it. He shows you how to use Jquery to make your web pages sing with usability delight. Plus, its one of the most unique and coolest web sites I’ve been to.

Besides publishing Jankoatwarpspeed, he is also an artist and painter, go check out his flickr photostream. Janko has also published a lot of free UI and design tools like the Sketching&WireframingKit and HandyIcons, and if you are zipping around from design blog to design blog you’ll so more of his free designer tools pop up here and there.

Eric Meyer

CSS Guru. I use Guru because ‘Ninja’ is so overused and trite. Eric Meyer is a Bill Gates look a like who is one the foremost experts in Cascading Style Sheets and one of the rare individuals who have moved the web into a better place as a whole. I first found out about Eric after picking up his book CSS: The Definitive Guide. Then I realized that I had already owned his CSS Pocket Reference. If you ever want to learn CSS, learn it from Eric, either through his speaking engagements, his many books and articles or his blog where he throws in some of his own thoughts as well. And he has some great free tools on CSS, design and WordPress for you to use.

Eric Meyer is the editor and co-founder of A List Apart and the co-founder of An Event Apart and a founding member of Global Multimedia Protocols Group. He has written the best CSS books in business and pretty much every designer has purchased and owns his books.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

